Taman Ayun Temple was built in 1634 by the King of Mengwi. In 1937 the temple was restored and enlarged. The pool surrounding the complex gives floating impression to the temple. A smaller pool with lotus flower is built within the inner sanctum. The middle part of the temple is occupied with impressive high building for kulkul --the hollowed wooden bell-- meanwhile the outer part is beautified by trim gardens.